Posts by sleeplessnights

As a driver, I had a couple of close calls, but managed to avoid them luckily. First incident I was driving relatively fast because it was like 2am and streets were empty. All of a sudden a guy tried to cross the street and almost jump in front of my car, but I managed to evade him in time. Second incident I did a U turn a little too fast and almost rolled over.

As a pedestrian, a car rear run over me, but it didn't cause serious injuries, but it did hurt.

As a cyclist, I was going downhill fast and for some stupid reason I just pressed break too hard and I flew over. I probably did a 360 or two before landing in my butt in a sitting position. It didn't cause injuries luckily. It could have been pretty bad as I landed on asphalt. it was embarrassing thou.

More and more experts expressed that herd immunity was impracticable due to the duration of the effectiveness of the vaccine and the speed of the mutation of the virus.

That was before the Delta variant became the dominant one and how vaccines and this variant work with each other. These original plans didn't take these in consideration at the time as these data were still monitored. When I say herd immunity, it is just the target they wanted for November which is covering most of the population and was the buzz word used at the time.

As comparison with the graph, probably Italy would be better comparison as they are closer in population and economy size.

Well at least their graph are moving. USA is stuck in the 50%ish mark way too long :(

It's really odd to see Korea and Japan having such a low rate of vaccination, they toke really strict measures when during the beginning of the pandemic but her they're with low vaccine rate, do people refuse to take the vaccine or the countries aren't doing a good job at sensitizing people ?