• I. Introduction

    NCT (엔시티) or Neo Culture Technology is a boy group under SM Entertainment. The group structure of NCT is unique among K-Pop groups due to the fact that the concept of NCT is an ever expanding group with "unlimited" members and it is comprised of several individual subunits. Currently there are 23 members in NCT making up four individual subunits. A fifth unit is expected to debut in 2021.

    II. Subunits

    III. NCT U

    NCT U is the first unit of NCT to debut. It is a special promotional unit with rotational members. Members are chosen to promote based on the song and concept. On April 4, 2016 NCT U debuted with the singles "The 7th Sense" (Taeyong, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, and Mark) and "Without You" (Taeil, Doyoung, and Jaehyun). A Chinese version of "Without You" features future NCT member Kun. As of December 2020, all current members of NCT have promoted under the NCT U subunit.

    IIII. NCT 127

    NCT 127 is the second unit of NCT to debut. NCT 127 is a fixed unit based in Seoul. NCT 127 debuted on July 7, 2016 with the EP NCT #127 and lead single "Fire Truck" with seven members (Taeyong, Taeil, Yuta, Jaehyun, Winwin, Mark, and Haechan). On December 16, it was announced that two new members, Johnny and Doyoung, would be joining NCT 127 with the second EP Limitless. In October 2018, it was announced that a 10th member, Jungwoo, would be added to NCT 127 with the release of their first full length album Regular-Irregular. In January 2019 member Winwin became an inactive member of NCT 127 due to his promotions with WayV.

    IIIII. NCT Dream

    NCT Dream is the third unit of NCT to debut. NCT Dream's original concept was a group of younger members who would promote and "graduate" from the group upon turning 20 years of age. They made their debut with seven members (Mark, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Chenle, and Jisung) on August 24, 2016 with the single "Chewing Gum". On September 3, 2018, SM confirmed that after promotions for NCT Dream's second EP We Go Up were completed, Mark would graduate from the group and they would continue on with six members. In April 2020, SM announced that following the release of NCT Dream's fourth EP Reload, the group's graduation concept would be dropped. Mark will rejoin Dream and they will promote as a special unit similar to NCT U.

    IIIV. WayV

    WayV is the fourth unit of NCT to debut. WayV is a fixed unit based in China and consists of seven members (Kun, Ten, Winwin, Lucas, Xiaojun, Hendery, and Yangyang). Due to tensions at the time between China and South Korea, WayV was introduced and promoted as a seperate group from NCT under Label V. However they made their debut on January 17, 2019 with a Chinese version of NCT 127's "Regular". In September 2020, WayV officially became part of NCT with the launch of the NCT 2020 project.

    III. NCT Projects

    IIII. Empathy

    In January 2018, SM announced the NCT 2018 project which would involve all 18 members of NCT. The album NCT 2018 Empathy was released on March 14 with six lead singles from all current units of NCT. NCT U released three singles "Boss" (Taeyong, Mark, Doyoung, Jaehyun, Winwin, Lucas, and Jungwoo), "Baby Don't Stop" (Taeyong and Ten), and "Yestoday" (Taeyong, Doyoung, Mark, and Lucas). NCT 127 released "Touch", NCT Dream released "Go", and "Black on Black" was credited to NCT 2018.

    IIIII. Resonance

    In September 2020, SM announced the NCT 2020 project. All four units of NCT would come together with two new members (Shotaro and Sungchan). NCT Resonance, Pt. 1 was released on October 12 with the lead singles "Make a Wish (Birthday Song)" (Taeyong, Doyoung, Jaehyun, Lucas, Xiaojun, Jaemin, and Shotaro) and "From Home" (Taeil, Yuta, Kun, Doyoung, Renjun, Haechan, and Chenle). The album sold more than 1.1 million copies. On November 23, Resonance, Pt. 2 was relesed with the lead singles "90s Love" (Ten, Winwin, Mark, Jeno, Haechan, Yangyang, and Sungchan) and "Work It" (Johnny, Yuta, Ten, Jungwoo, Hendery, Jaemin, and Jisung). On December 4, "Resonance" a special single featuring all 23 members of NCT was released.

    IIIIII. Universe

    In June 2021, SM revealed that there were plans for a NCT 2021 project. On November 13, it was officially announced that NCT would be releasing their third full album titled Universe. All four units of NCT would once again come together, however Winwin and Lucas would not be involved in the album (however Winwin does appear in select promotional teasers). The album released on December 14 with the dual title tracks "Universe (Let's Play Ball)" (Doyoung, Jungwoo, Mark, Xiaojun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Yangyang, and Shotaro) and "Beautiful" performed by 21 members of NCT.

    IV. Members

    Taeil (태일)
    Moon Tae Il (문태일)
    DOB: June 14, 1994
    Debut: April 9, 2016
    Units: U, 127
    Johnny (쟈니)
    John Suh
    DOB: February 9, 1995
    Debut: January 5, 2017
    Units: U, 127
    Taeyong (태용)
    Lee Tae Yong (이태용)
    DOB: July 1, 1995
    Debut: April 9, 2016
    Units: U, 127
    Yuta (유타)
    Nakamoto Yuta(中本悠太)
    DOB: October 26, 1995
    Debut: July 7, 2016
    Units: U, 127
    Kun (쿤)
    Qian Kun (錢錕)
    DOB: January 1, 1996
    Debut: April 18, 2018
    Units: U, WayV
    Doyoung (도영)
    Kim Dong Young (김동영‬)
    DOB: February 1, 1996
    Debut: April 9, 2016
    Units: U, 127
    Ten (텐)
    Chittaphon Leechaiyapornkul
    DOB: February 27, 1996
    Debut: April 15, 2016
    Units: U, WayV
    Jaehyun (재현)
    Jung Yoon Oh (정윤오)
    DOB: February 14, 1997
    Debut: April 9, 2016
    Units: U, 127
    Winwin (윈윈)
    Dong Si Cheng (董思成)
    DOB: October 28, 1997
    Debut: July 7, 2016
    Units: U, 127, WayV
    Jungwoo (정우)
    Kim Jung Woo (김정우)
    DOB: February 19, 1998
    Debut: February 22, 2018
    Units: U, 127
    Lucas (루카스)
    Wong Yuk-hei (黃旭熙)
    DOB: January 25, 1999
    Debut: February 22, 2018
    Units: U, WayV
    Mark (마크)
    Mark Lee
    DOB: August 2, 1999
    Debut: April 15, 2016
    Units: U, 127, Dream
    Xiao Jun (샤오쥔)
    Xiao Dejun (肖德俊)
    DOB: August 8, 1999
    Debut: January 17, 2019
    Units: U, WayV
    Hendery (헨드리)
    Wong Kunhang (黃冠亨)
    DOB: September 28, 1999
    Debut: January 17, 2019
    Units: U, WayV
    Renjun (런쥔)
    Huang Ren Jun (黄仁俊)
    DOB: March 23, 2000
    Debut: August 25, 2016
    Units: U, Dream
    Jeno (제노)
    Lee Je No (이제노)
    DOB: April 23, 2000
    Debut: August 25, 2016
    Units: U, Dream
    Haechan (해찬)
    Lee Dong Hyuck (이동혁)
    DOB: June 6, 2000
    Debut: July 7, 2016
    Units: U, 127, Dream
    Jaemin (재민)
    Na Jae Min (나재민)
    DOB: August 13, 2000
    Debut: August 25, 2016
    Units: U, Dream
    Yangyang (양양)
    Liu YangYang
    DOB: October 10, 2000
    Debut: January 17, 2019
    Units: U, WayV
    Shotaro (쇼타로)
    Osaki Shotaro(大崎将太郎)
    DOB: November 25, 2000
    Debut: October 12, 2020
    Units: U
    Sungchan (성찬)
    Jung Sung Chan (정성찬)
    DOB: September 13, 2001
    Debut: October 12, 2020
    Units: U
    Chenle (천러)
    Zhong Chen Le (钟辰乐)
    DOB: November 22, 2001
    Debut: August 25, 2016
    Units: U, Dream
    Jisung (지성)
    Park Ji Sung (박지성)
    DOB: February 5, 2002
    Debut: August 25, 2016
    Units: U, Dream

    V. Discography

    Artwork Title Release Date
    NCT 2018 Empathy March 14, 2018
    NCT 2020 Resonance Pt. 01 October 12, 2020
    NCT 2020 Resonance Pt. 02 November 23, 2020
    Universe December 14, 2021

    VI. Trivia

    • Most of NCT's members were introduced to the public through the SMROOKIES program.


Comments 2