• I. Introduction

    Inkigayo is a south korean music program broadcast by SBS.

    It airs live every Sunday. The show features some of the latest and most popular artists who perform on stage.

    It is broadcast from the SBS Open Hall in Deungchon-dong, Gangseo-gu, Seoul.

    The music show has 1106 episodes (ongoing) and the present hosts are Jihoon, Sungchan, An Yu-jin.

    II. History

    Inkigayo debuted as SBS Popular Song in 1991 as a chart show, but was canceled in fall 1993 because it was replaced by TV Gayo 20 (TV 가요20). It was later revived in 1998 with its original title and format. In 2003, the chart format was removed and was replaced by Take 7, where seven of the most popular artists from the week are featured and the most popular artist receives the award for Mutizen Song.

    In spring 2007, the program changed from a recorded broadcast to a live broadcast in an effort to boost ratings, as well as changing the English name to The Music Trend. On November 2, 2008, the program moved from 3:20 pm to 4:10 pm Sunday afternoons, airing before Good Sunday, also to boost ratings. In spring 2010, the program expanded to 70 minutes beginning at 3:50 pm every Sunday.

    On July 10, 2012, SBS announced revamping the show removing the Take 7 system and Mutizen Song award, explaining that "we believe that rather than the ranking system, the most important thing is the genre K-Pop being recognized worldwide. Therefore, we have decided to abolish the system after much discussion. There’s really no meaning behind a ranking system. We have decided to undergo this change in hopes that viewers can just enjoy the music. There are a lot of K-Pop stars in the music industry that have talent. We wanted to break free from the repetitive system, in which artists release new songs and perform, so we plan on redesigning our system by having the concept of more special stages. For viewers to enjoy the music, we will have more collaboration stages and much more." The revamped show, without Take 7 and Mutizen Song award, began on July 15, 2012.

    On March 3, 2013, the program announced the revival of the chart system with Inkigayo Chart. The new chart is a collaboration with the Music Industry Association of Korea's Gaon Chart and began March 17, 2013.

    III. Old Segments

    1. Super Rookie
    Every week, a "rookie" artist or group performed live on stage. At the end of the month, a "Super Rookie" was chosen, through votes from the Inkigayo homepage, and was featured that month. This segment ended at the end of 2010.
    2. Digital Music Charts
    Formerly known as Mobile Ranking, the Digital Music Charts takes into consideration the popularity of songs through downloads on mobile phones as well as downloads on music sites. Every week, it features five ranks with a special guest(s) to host the segment. This segment was abandoned mid-2009.
    3. Campaign Songs
    Throughout each episode, various artists are featured in campaign songs that raise awareness for certain topics or issues. Such campaigns include: safe driving, drinking milk, piracy, and various local events.
    4. Take 7
    Take 7 is the representative segment of Inkigayo. Every week, seven of the most popular songs of that week are featured, where most artists will perform. At the end of the show, the Mutizen Song ("Mutizen" is a portmanteau of "music" and "netizen", symbolizing a song chosen by netizens) which is the most popular song of the week, receives the award.
    This has replaced the regular countdown charts format seen in most music programs and eliminates the need to rank artists. One song can only receive the award a maximum of three times. The following week, it is removed from the Take 7 list. This system was abolished on July 10, 2012.

    IV. New Segments 2013 - Present

    1. Inkigayo Q
    Viewers can ask a designated artist of the week questions through SBS mobile app Soty. During this interview segment, selected questions are asked and those users receive prizes for their participation. This segment began on February 17, 2013.
    2. Inkigayo Showcase
    A new stage to showcase talented indie and new artists who are hard to see on television each week.
    This segment began along with Inkigayo Chart on March 17, 2013
    3. Inkigayo Chart
    After abolishing Take 7 in July 2012, a new chart system was implemented on March 17, 2013. The revived chart features fifty songs for viewers to vote on (like the previous Take 7 chart) through SBS mobile app Soty, combined with Digital Song Chart and Offline Album Chart in collaboration with the Music Industry Association of Korea's Gaon Chart to create the Inkigayo Chart. The chart is tracked from Monday to Monday of the following week (13 days prior to 6 days prior), and is calculated by combining Digital sales points (55%) from Gaon Digital Chart, Album sales points (10%) from Gaon Album Chart, SNS Points (30%) from Youtube views, and Advance viewers vote points (5%) from voting on Melon. The top three artists of the chart become First Place Nominees, who go through live voting through Starpass, which global fans can vote. Every songs that not wins 3 times yet (i.e: Triple crown) is eligible from this chart, regardless of when songs release. However, OST, songs released through audition program and deemed unsuitable (at SBS's discretion) is not eligible.

    New System: January 24, 2021 – present

    Digital single sales (55%), SNS (30%), album sales (10%), On-Air (10%), advance viewer votes (5%), live votes (5%)

    V. Triple Crown

    Old System
    Triple Crown is a song that has received Mutizen Song three times. After that, the song was removed from Take 7 and was ineligible to win again.
    New System
    Triple Crown is a song that has received First Place three times. After that, the song is removed from the chart and ineligible to win again.


Comments 1