Some of the books that I have read in 2023

• Well... decided to make another thread like the one I did last year.

I feel like this year has had a lot of books that made me think "What the heck is this ending even?"

This thread is as long as last year's thread, so you might decide to only read about the books that you are interested in.

Again, some of the books are like... "I forgot what even happened in this one"

Daughter of Fortune (Isabel Allende)

Well... I started reading it in 2022 and finished reading it early this year.

That book made me realize that Isabel Allende books are maybe not for me, even though I did like some parts of it. So I'm probably not going to read her other books. (but maybe... I will give her a second chance)

I'm not an expert in Chinese history or culture, but there is a Chinese character in the book. And some of the stuff about that character seemed historically accurate to me.

One thing that bothered me about the book was the part about the 17 year old, who in a flashback had an affair with an older opera singer. (a lot of books, I read in 2022, had that thing with 17-year-olds in relationships with older men. And I felt like I was the only one bothered by it.)

Anne Of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)

I guess a lot of people are familiar with that book series or Anne With An E.

It's weird how I have forgotten a lot of stuff that happened in the books, but I did like that book and it gives me the nostalgia of Astrid Lindgren books.

Babette's Feast (Karen Blixen)

The book that the first Danish movie to win an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film was based on. And it is a movie that I actually enjoyed watching. (Apparently, there is going to be an American remake of it, and it better not be trash)

And yes, Karen Blixen is that person, Meryl Streep played in the movie "Out Of Africa", which was based on her life. (I remember learning about Blixen in Danish class and we watched Out Of Africa in class.)