• I. Introduction

    Ben (벤) is a South Korean singer under MAJOR9. She is a former member of the girl group BeBe Mignon.

    II. Career

    She was a member of South Korean band Bebe Mignon from 2010 to 2011. The band disbanded after the departure of member Gaeul, but she made the transition to vocal soloist thanks to her mentor, Vibe's Yoon Minsu.

    In October 2012, she released her first album, 147.5, as a solo vocalist, a compilation of sad ballads with string arrangements and piano, with the title referring to her diminutive height, reported as between 147.5 cm and 153 cm, or around 4 feet 10 inches to 5 feet tall.

    In August 2015, she released her second EP My Name Is Ben, with nine tracks, including the title dance song "Looby Loo", which differed from her past ballad style, and other songs including jazz and R&B.

    In November 2015, she released an album, Soulmate, which includes duets with singers MIIII and Sejun Im.

    She has recorded many soundtracks, abbreviated as OSTs, for South Korean films and Korean drama or k-drama for television in South Korea.

    In 2015, these included "Give Me A Hug" for Hello Monster, "Stay" for Oh My Ghost, "You" for Healer, and "Darling You" for Oh My Venus, a duet with Kim Tae-woo.

    In 2016, she sang "Like a Dream" for Another Oh Hae-young, recorded a duet with Xia Junsu for his fourth album, Xignature, entitled "Sweet Melody", sang "Misty Road" composed by Jinyoung of B1A4 for Love in the Moonlight and in 2017, she sang "Memory", one of the OSTs for "Introverted Boss".

    In 2018, she released her first studio album, Recipe, which contains nine tracks overall.

    She also released her fifth extended play Off The Record which was released in April 2020.

    III. Discography

    Studio Album(s)

    Cover Title Date of Release
    Recipe 2018

    Mini Album(s)

    Cover Title Date of Release
    147.5 2012
    My Name Is Ben 2015
    Soulmate 2015
    180˚ 2018
    Off The Record 2020

    Digital Single(s)

    Cover Title Date of Release
    "Don't Go Today" 2012
    "I've Decided To Be Introduced" 2015
    "Not Ok" 2016
    "Sweety" 2017
    "Love Recipe" 2018
    "Iced Coffee" 2018
    "Lonely Night" 2020
    "Because I Am A Woman" 2021


    • "Global Project 'Kiss the Rain' Part.2" (with Haegeum, Nassun, Im Se Jun) (2012)
    • "Lonely Christmas (Made in The Vibe)" (with VIBE, 4MEN, Im Se Jun, Min Yeon Jae, MIII) (2014)
    • "언제 사람 될래 (Made in the VIBE)" (2015)
    • "Celebrate Love (Made in The Vibe)" (with VIBE, 4MEN, Im Se Jun, MIII) (2015)
    • "Konus (Made in The Vibe)" (with Big Shot) (2015)
    • "You're My Christmas (Made in The Vibe)" (with VIBE, Shin Yong Jae, Im Se Jun, MIII) (2015)
    • "Don't Go Today (Made in The Vibe)" (with Im Se Jun) (2016)
    • "From Me To You (Made in The Vibe)" (with Shin Yong Jae) (2017)
    • "I've Only Done Good Things for You" (2017)
    • "MAJOR9 Winter Album 'Goodbye Santa Claus'" (with VIBE, 4men, Kim Dong Jun, Francis, Joseph) (2017)
    • "The First Night" (with Kim Won Joo) (2018)


    • Rooftop House Studio - "Whenever, That Time" (2018)


    • "Healer OST Part.4" (2015)
    • "Oh My Ghost OST Part.1" (2015)
    • "Hello Monster OST Part.5" (2015)
    • "Oh My Venus OST Part.2" (2015)
    • "Moonlight Drawn by Clouds OST Part.4" (2016)
    • "Introverted Boss OST Part.2" (2017)
    • "Alice OST Part.2" ("Whenever Wherever Whatever") (2020)

    IV. Filmography

    Variety Show(s)

    • Mother's Spring (herself) - TV Chosun (2015 - present)
    • I Can See Your Voice (herself) - Mnet (2015 - 2016)

    V. Awards

    Year Award Ceremony Category Nominated Work
    2018 Korea Popular Music Award Best OST "Cant Go"
    2019 Gaon Chart Music Awards Artist of the Year - Digital Music (December) "180 Degree"
    2020 Gaon Chart Music Awards Artist of the Year - Digital Music (July) "Thank you for Goodbye"