are you a "music expert"?

• Or would you consider yourself one?

Well... I don't think I'm a music expert.

I do enjoy listening to music. (I don't know, who doesn't?)

I don't think I'm an expert in anything.

Well... I do often read books. (both non-fiction and fiction)

And sometimes have wanted to study language and literature, but I wouldn't call myself "language expert" or "literature expert"

But not everyone needs to be an expert.

I guess what I would consider a music expert is someone, who knows much about:

• the history of music (and also the history about some of the different genres)
    • some of the classical composers
    • instruments (probably also know how to play at least 3 of them)

Perhaps also has a PhD in music and has studied about it in school. (and gone to some music school)

I feel like some songwriters, singers, composers, musicians etc... are music experts.

And then there are also music teachers and vocal coaches, who I feel might be considered music expert.

Well... I can play the piano kind of, but I don't think I have played the piano this year.

I did learn how to play the piano in a music school. (even though I kind of knew how to play it, before I learned.)

My piano skills haven't improved though and I'm not a "piano expert".

I do know how to play some songs on the piano, including the "tango" song that I learned there.

I'm kind of good at singing, or at least, I have been told many times "Wow, you're such a good singer.", and I don't feel like they are being sarcastic or anything, when they say it.

I have sometimes had thoughts about becoming a singer, but I would rather be just a lyricist than a singer.

Well... I don't think I would be good at composing, so I would rather be writing lyrics.

I often write poems and I know that some poems have turned into songs.