Why do you think KPOP artists aren't being taken as seriously in America?

• Background:

I'm a college student currently working on a capstone/senior project. And since I'm into KPOP, I naturally wanted to make my project based on that. It focuses on the KPOP industry and marketing in hopes of building a bridge to uplift Asian-American artists.

Discussion:

KPOP has been a cultural phenomenon amongst Asian representation in American mainstream media for some time now. What confuses me though is that even the biggest act, BTS, is either still unknown or not taken seriously despite breaking many records. I've seen a lot of common discussions around xenophobia and cultural barriers/differences. I welcome more diverse perspectives as to why, but if you would like to touch on those reasons listed earlier, please go into depth. I'm hypothesizing that it's a lot of that "foreigner" or outsider kind of vibes. I wanted to get multiple perspectives from y'all in the community.

In addition to that, what do you think are or aren't successful marketing strategies from KPOP in America and why?

• Because BG and GG have always been frowned upon, they have always been seen as teenage music in the West.

When PSY's song went viral around the world, western media and people mostly appreciated the dance and the fact that the MV was funny. The music has never been perceived as very good.

It's rude to say this, but at the moment kpop hasn't reached its golden age at all yet. Generations and artist are gifted but this revolutionary artist is still missing who will shake up the codes and completely change the image of kpop for the GP in the West.

• As an American myself

I don't think what I will say will be factual but i will provide you in contrast to my own theory with Logical evidence to prove why this is the case.

also disclaimer im 17, i might sound smart, but im a dumbass lmao