The Sound of Magic

  • fullsizephoto1464802.jpg

    I. Introduction

    Based on the Naver webtoon Annarasumanara by Ha Il-kwon, The Sound of Magic is a 2022 South Korean drama directed by Kim Seong-yoon & written by Kim Min-jeong, starring Ji Chang-wook, Choi Sung-eun and Hwang In-youp.

    In December 2020, it was announced that Ji Chang-wook was offered the role of the magician in the series &, Hwang In-youp was also reported to have been offered the role of Na Il-deung. In February 2021, it was reported that Choi Sung-eun was in talks to appear in the drama as Yoon Ah-yi. In April 2021, Netflix officially announced production as well as casting confirmation with Ji Chang-wook, Choi Sung-eun, and Hwang In-yeop.

    The series was choreographed by Hong Se-jeong of the musicals Phantom and Laughing Man, while illusionist Lee Eun-gyeol served as the magic advisor. Music director Park Seong-il and lyricist Kim Eana were in charge of the music.

    The series was released on May 6, 2022 exclusively by Netflix.

    II. Synopsis

    The Sound of Magic is an emotional music drama that revolves around Yoon Ah-yi, a poor student attending Sewoon High School, who has diminished her belief in magic, which she had a passion for when she was younger. Under many misfortunes, she wishes to grow faster to become an adult, so she can escape the major stressors and debts, which weigh her down. She then meets an adult magician, under much suspicion, Lee Eul, who wants to remain as a so-called 'child'. Under despise and disbelief from the whole community, he aims to claim he is a real magician, asking whoever he meets "Do you believe in magic?". After being a frequent visitor of the Lee Eul's residence (which is at an abandoned amusement park), Ah-yi's life gradually changes as she becomes a follower of him, making herself again a believer in magic and further deciding to follow her dreams in earnest.

    III. Teaser & Trailer

    IV. Episodes

    V. OSTs

    The music of this fantasy music drama was composed by music director Park Seong-il and lyrics are by Kim Eana, Seo Dong-seong, and Lee Chi-hoon. The production team worked together to create the music for 18 months.

    The OST is composed by Park Seong-il on the lyrics of Kim Eana. Aside from Park Seong-il and Kim Eana, the drama's OST was also recorded with the Czech National Symphony Orchestra. The string recording was done in the second half of 2021 alongside composer Kim Seon Kyong. Pre-released OST titled Annarasumanara, rendered by Ji Chang-wook and Choi Sung-eun was released by Vlending Co., Ltd, on April 28, 2022. The full OST was officially released simultaneously with the worldwide release of the series on May 6.

    VI. Reception

    The Sound of Magic was ranked 7th globally in the Netflix TV shows (Non-English) category, one day after its release. The review aggregator website Rotten Tomatoes reported a 100% approval rating, based on 5 reviews with an average rating of 7.10/10. It scored 8.0 & 8.5 on IMDB & Mydramalist respectively.