Free Somebody

  • I. Introduction

    Free Somebody is the debut mini album by LUNA, released on May 31, 2016.

    It contains six tracks, including the single and title song "Free Somebody".

    The EP marks Luna's debut as a solo artist, and incorporates a range of genres, including electropop and R&B.

    II. Singles and Composition

    On May 26, 2016, Luna was announced to be releasing "Free Somebody", a promotional song for the album. A teaser video for the song was released on May 29, followed by its music video and digital release on May 31. Luna performed the song for the first time at the Show! Music Core. The song peaked at number 57 on Gaon Digital Chart.

    The title track ''Free Somebody'' is a future house track composed by Swedish production team "The Family" and the American singer-songwriter JoJo.

    Lyrically, the song describes a desire to freely spread the dreams in the heart of the other party.

    "Keep On Doin'" is of the electronic dance genre, and has an "addictive sound with a hook melody and a groovy funky base rhythm".

    "Breathe" is a trip hop based song.  "Galaxy" is of the electronic pop genre, its lyrics about "trying to stand out in the colourful galaxy".
    "Pretty Girl (I Wish)" and "My Medicine" were both written and composed by Luna.
    According to Luna, the lyrics of "Pretty Girl (I Wish)" describe her hope that "young girls and young boys will never know the bitter taste of coffee and the dark side of the world''.

    "My Medicine" is an "R&B ballad song with a warm and fantasy-like feeling" that Luna wrote for her mother.

    III. Commercial Performance

    The EP entered the Gaon Album Chart at number five, and charted on the Billboard World Albums Chart at number three. It was the fifteenth best selling album in South Korea, in the month of May, selling over 8,000 physical copies. As of September 2016, it has sold over 10,000 copies.

    Free Somebody was considered a refreshing and unexpected move from Luna's predominant image as a ballad singer, its electronic style resonating especially with international audiences.

    IV. Tracklist

    1. Free Somebody

    2. Breathe

    3. Keep On Doin'

    4. Pretty Girl (I Wish)

    5. Galaxy

    6. My Medicine

    V. MV and Album Tracks