What a Life

  • I. Introduction

    What a Life is the debut mini album by EXO's second sub-unit EXO-SC.

    It was released on July 22,2019 and the EP features six tracks, including three singles, What a Life being the title track, Closer to You and Just Us 2.

    II. Music and Composition

    On July 12, it was revealed that the EP will feature three singles, and that it was produced by Dynamic Duo's Gaeko and Devine Channel. It was revealed that Chanyeol and Sehun participated in writing and producing the album, and that the message of the EP is for youth.

    "What a Life" is described as a hip hop track with a "unique" plucking sound and lyrics containing a message of both working and playing happily.

    "Just Us 2" is a hip hop song featuring piano instrumentation, soft synthesizers and a melodious chorus, with lyrics about vacationing in a hot summer spot. The track features rapper Gaeko and was composed by the South Korean artist Gray. The lyrics of the song were written by Boi B, Chanyeol and Sehun.
    "Closer to You" is a hip hop R&B song with romantic sensibility. It features an emotional melody and a "highly addictive" chorus, with lyrics expressing the desire to be closer to a person. Chanyeol and Sehun participated in writing the lyrics with hip hop group Rhythm Power member Hangzoo.

    III. Commercial Performance

    Sales of What a Life on QQ Music exceeded 1M yuan, and it received a Platinum record certification.

    The album also sold a total of 419k+ copies.

    IV. Tracklist

    1. What a Life

    2. Just Us 2

    3. Closer to You

    4. Borderline

    5. Roller Coaster

    6. Daydreamin'

    V. MV and Album Tracks