Kick Back

  • Stranger Version Hitchhiker Version

    I. Introduction

    Kick Back is the third mini-album (EP) from the permanent NCT sub-unit, WayV. It was released on March 10, 2021. The EP contains six songs. WayV records songs in Mandarin, English and Korean. Kick Back was WayV's first release after participating in the NCT 2020 Resonance project, which involved all NCT members. During Resonance, it was stressed that WayV was a sub-unit of NCT and members were included in promotions. NCT 2020 Resonance Pt. 1 and NCT 2020 Resonance Pt. 2 became top-sellers in 2020, with Pt. 1 becoming SM Entertainment's top-selling album of all time. This is the first major NCT sub-unit release following the Resonance event. One of the other sub-units, NCT 127, had a Japanese release, Loveholic, through Avex in January 2021.

    There were two different designs for the EP: Stranger and Hitchhiker.

    II. Commercial Performance

    Kick Back was WayV's most successful album to date, boosted in attention by the NCT 2020 Resonance project. It debuted on both Japanese album charts (Oricon and Billboard) at #35, reaching #13 on the Oricon chart. It became WayV's first #1 album on the Korean Gaon Album chart for the week of its release, then finished the month in 6th place with 226,535 copies sold. This was more than twice the amount from their last release, Awaken the World, in June 2020, prior to the Resonance project. As of April 2021, it was both their highest charting and top selling album on Gaon and Hanteo in Korea. It also debuted at #1 on Worldwide Itunes Album Charts, as well as #1 in 20 countries and #2 in the United States.

    The lead single "Kick Back" reached #1 on QQ Music Mainland MV chart, as well as debuting at #7 on Tencent Music's UNI Chart. WayV promoted both the Chinese and Korean versions of the songs on different Korean music shows. It became WayV's first #1 on Melon World Music Charts.

    III. Promotional Videos

    Kick Back was promoted with an Online Showcase on VLive , which featured performances of existing WayV songs and the premier of new songs from Kick Back as part of the launch of the mini album.

    IV. Promoted Singles

    "Kick Back" - released March 11, 2021

    released as a MV, but not promoted as a single

    "Action Figure" - released March 26, 2021

    V. Music Videos

    VI. Track List

    Lyrics Music Arrangement
    秘境(Kick Back) Pan Yan Ting Harold "Alawn" Philippon, Jasmine Kara, Keynon "KC" Moore, Ryan S. Jhun Harold "Alawn" Philippon, Yoo Young-jin
    Action FigureAction Figure Lin Xinye Bobii Lewis, Ebenzer Olaoluwa Fabiyi, Magnus Klausen, JUNNY Bobii Lewis, Ebenezer Olaoluwa Fabiyi, Magnus Klausen
    天空海(Horizon) Xiaohan Hwang Chan-hee, Simon Petren Simon Petren
    梦尽 (All for Love) Pan Yan Ting Hyuk Shin (Joombas), Seann Bowe (Joombas) Seann Bowe (Joombas)
    Good Time DeerJenny Jun Suk Choi, Alexander Karlsson, Cazzi Opeia (Sunshine) Jun Suk Choi
    Kick Back (Korean version) Kim Min-ji Harold "Alawn" Philippon, Jasmine Kara, Keynon "KC" Moore, Ryan S. Jhun Harold "Alawn" Philippon, Yoo Young-jin