• I. Introduction

    Mama is the debut mini album by EXO.

    It was released in two languages, Korean and Mandarin with EXO-K and EXO-M editions.

    The mini album was produced by Lee Sooman. The title track is a korean term used to address to a royal person, your highness or your majesty in english. Mama is written by Yoo Youngjin who also co-wrote two other singles from the EP, "What Is Love" and "History".

    II. Promotion

    From December 2011 to February 2012, SM Entertainment released 23 teaser trailers featuring the members of the group, which included some previews of the songs from the EP. The track "Angel" is used as background music in four teaser trailers. The track "Two Moons" is featured in Teaser 12, which starred Exo's Kai and Lay.

    "Machine" is featured in Teaser 5, starring Kai. The track "What is Love" is featured in two teaser trailers.

    III. Release and Singles

    The group's prologue single, "What Is Love" was released on January 30, 2012. A second prologue single, "History" was released on March 9.
    On March 31, 2012, SM Entertainment unveiled a teaser trailer for the music video of the EP's title single Mama at EXO's concert showcase in Seoul.

    The EP was released on April 9, 2012, simultaneously in China, South Korea, and the international Itunes store.

    Both versions of the EP were a commercial success; Exo-K's version reached number one on Gaon Album Chart

    Prior to the EP, EXO had 2 pre-releases, What Is Love and History.

    The korean version of What Is Love is performed by Baekhyun and D.O while the mandarin version by Chen and Luhan.

    Each music video, though recorded in two different versions, featured all 12 members of Exo. The music videos consists of the combined video teasers that were previously released by the company.

    History was digitally released on March 9, 2012 in both Korean and Mandarin. The korean version is performed by EXO-K and the mandarin version by EXO-M.

    IV. Tracklist

    1. Mama

    2. What Is Love

    3. History

    4. Angel

    5. Two Moons

    6. Machine

    V. MV and Album Tracks