Blackpink - Square Up

  • I. Introduction

    Square Up is the first Korean mini album by BLACKPINK.

    It was released on June 15, 2018 with "Ddu-Du Ddu-Du" and "Forever Young" serving as the album's double title tracks.

    II. Tracklist

    1. Ddu-Du Ddu-Du

    2. Forever Young

    3. Really

    4. See U Later

    III. Commercial Performance

    The mini album debuted on the top spot of Japan's Oricon weekly digital album chart with 3,915 downloads. The title track debuted as the highest-charting HOT 100 hit ever by an all-female K-pop act, opening at number 55 with 12.4 million US streams and 7,000 downloads sold in the tracking week ending June 21, 2018.

    Square Up also brought the group their first entry on the US Billboard 200 debuting at number 40 with 14k album units.

    In South Korea, the mini album debuted at number one on Gaon Album Chart. While Ddu Du Ddu Du debuted at number 3 on the Gaon Digital Chart and at number one on the Gaon Download Chart on the chart issue dated June 10–16, 2018 with 31,072,049 digital points.
    In its second week, "Ddu-Du Ddu-Du" peaked at number one on Digital, Download, Streaming, and Mobile Charts on Gaon with 85,411,467 digital points.

    Billboard listed Square Up as the twentieth best K-pop album of 2018, describing it as "a testament to their dedication to rambunctious, hip-hop infused dance music" that "[exuded] confidence, sass and an overpowering sense of chic''.

    IV. MV and Album Tracks