Alice in Borderland

  • 54ef42c4093a82160e226f27fda9e76e.jpg

    I. Introduction

    Alice in Borderland is a 2020 Japanese science fiction suspense-thriller drama streaming television series based on the manga of the same name by Haro Aso. Directed by Shinsuke Sato, the series stars Kento Yamazaki and Tao Tsuchiya as allies trapped in an abandoned Tokyo where they are forced to compete in dangerous games, the type and difficulty of which are determined by playing cards. After surviving their first game, players receive visas, which are extended the more they compete; if the visas expire, the individuals are executed by red lasers being shot from the sky.

    II. Developments & Productions

    First announced in July 2019, each episode of the series was written by Sato, Yoshiki Watabe, and Yasuko Kuramitsu. Filming began in August and concluded that same year in December, with locations including various districts of Shibuya, and a green screen studio serving as a replica of the popular Shibuya Crossing, where a large portion of the series takes place. In an international collaboration, Japan's Digital Frontier worked with teams from Singapore, the United States, and India to add post-credit visual effects, with the music featured in the series being composed by Yutaka Yamada, a frequent collaborator with Sato.

    III. Synopsis

    Alice - a listless, jobless and video-game-obsessed young man - suddenly finds himself in a strange, emptied-out version of Tokyo in which he and his friends must compete in dangerous games in order to survive. In this strange world, Alice meets Usagi, a young woman who’s navigating the games alone. After a dangerous game which tests Alice’s limits, the two set out together to unravel one mystery after another as they risk their lives and confront what it means to live.

    IV. Teasers & Trailers

    V. All Episodes

    VI. OSTs

    VII. Disc 1

    No. Title Length

    1. "Alice in Borderland" 11:15

    2. "Doldrums" 5:37

    3. "Mirror Maze" 6:01

    4. "Obstruction" 4:11

    5. "Peripherals" 2:57

    6. "Rainfall" 5:46

    7. "Beyond The Mist" 5:19

    8. "Soulbound" 4:46

    9. "Gargoyles" 10:21

    10. "Nerve" 7:18

    11. "Retrospect" 4:40

    12. "The Looking Glass" 5:56

    13. "Ashes" 1:31

    Total length: 75:38

    VIII. Disc 2

    No. Title Length

    1. "Portal" 4:31

    2. "Iron Fist" 4:07

    3. "Paranoia" 4:16

    4. "Unearthed" 6:44

    5. "Sun Rays" 1:57

    6. "Accidents of Chaos" 5:50

    7. "The Abyss" 10:57

    8. "Armour" 5:12

    9. "Hidden Card" 3:29

    10. "Eternity of Reality" 4:25

    11. "Delirium" 3:43

    12. "Ace of Spades" 2:50

    13. "Lune" 2:58

    14. "Film of Time (Alt. Ver.)" 5:29

    15. "Gamemaster" 1:38

    16. "Good Times [Jan Erik Nilsson (a.k.a Eartraxx)]" 5:03

    Total length: 73:09

    VIIII. Disc 3

    No. Title Length

    1. "Hype" 1:21

    2. "Vantage Point" 3:03

    3. "Trickster" 1:46

    4. "Frenzy" 1:38

    5. "Your Smile" 2:25

    6. "Uncharted" 8:48

    7. "No Exit" 6:33

    8. "Moonbow" 4:03

    9. "Film of Time" 2:51

    Total length: 32:28

    VII. Reception

    Alice in Borderland premiered on Netflix on December 10, 2020, where it was met with positive reviews from viewers and critics for its visuals, cinematography, editing, and use of graphic violence, with some comparing the series to the films Battle Royale (2000) and Cube (1997). Two weeks after the first season was released, Netflix renewed the series for a second season. It has currently gained the scores of 7.7 on IMDB, & 8.8 on Mydramalist.